AMALI City Leadership Programme inaugural cohort announced

We are pleased to announce the members of the inaugural cohort of the AMALI City Leadership Programme. These leaders form a diverse and accomplished group with a common goal: delivering transformative change that can set their cities on a trajectory to thrive for generations.

The leaders participating in Cohort 2023 recently gathered virtually for the first time, where they were welcomed to the programme by Edgar Pieterse, AMALI Board Co-Chair and African Centre for Cities (ACC) Founding Director, and Jamie Cooper, AMALI Board Co-Chair and Chair and President of Big Win Philanthropy.

During their first meeting, the mayors spoke about their leadership journeys and shared their visions and goals for the future of their cities. Many highlighted their enthusiasm about the opportunity to join a network of like-minded city leaders from across the continent, with access to the invaluable insight and resources provided by AMALI.

During his welcome address to Cohort 2023, Edgar Pieterse said:

AMALI takes into account the unique conditions of African cities, as well as the demanding, complex, and exhilarating challenges that lie ahead for our continent. Building prosperity and ensuring a better future for all people across Africa begins with supporting our leaders in local and regional government.”

The AMALI City Leadership Programme will begin with an intensive, four-day Forum in Cape Town, South Africa in January 2023. Looking ahead to the Forum, AMALI Board Co-Chair and Big Win Philanthropy Chair and President Jamie Cooper commented:

 “Our research and experience around pioneering transformative leadership portends that mayors and city leaders are going to be gamechangers in setting the trajectory of the African continent. Our advisory board members understand this first-hand, having led bold, game-changing urban development initiatives. I look forward to seeing how they engage with—and inspire—our first cohort of city leaders.”

The members of Cohort 2023 include:

  • Adanech Abiebie – Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
  • Chilando Chitangala – Lusaka, Zambia
  • Davis Mwamfupe – Dodoma, Tanzania
  • Dresse Sahilu Goshu – Bahir Dar, Ethiopia
  • Hailu Jelde – Adama, Ethiopia
  • Kimani Wamatangi – Kiambu, Kenya
  • Mahmoud Muhammed Mussa – Zanzibar, Tanzania
  • Manuel de Araújo – Quelimane, Mozambique
  • Mpasa Mwaya – Kitwe, Zambia
  • Namayanja Florence – Masaka City, Uganda
  • Omary Said Kumbilamoto – Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
  • Raymonde Goudou Coffie – Lacs, Côte d’Ivoire
  • Regina Bakitte Musoke – Nansana, Uganda
  • Roger Mbassa Ndine – Douala, Cameroun 
  • Samuel Mollalign – Dessie, Ethiopia